Skip to content
All compounds
BPC-157

BPC-157 Reconstitution Calculator

BPC-157 is a synthetic 15-amino-acid sequence (GEPPPGKPADDAGLV) derived from a fragment of a protein found in human gastric juice. It is supplied as a lyophilised powder that has to be reconstituted with bacteriostatic water before injection, and because no approved formulation exists, the volume of water added is what sets the concentration. That is what this calculator is for: it converts a vial size and a mixing volume into mg/ml and U-100 syringe units. It does not tell you what to inject. No human trial has established a dose for this compound.

No established human dose

No human trial has established a dose for BPC-157. There is no evidence-based dose to give, and this page does not give one.

The calculator below converts a vial size and a mixing volume into a concentration. That is arithmetic about the vial, not a recommendation about what to inject.

01Inputs
03Evidence

What the evidence says

No human dosing dataLimited human data

No human trial has established a BPC-157 dose. Three decades of research is almost entirely rat and in-vitro: a 2026 biopharmaceutical review (PMID 42198317) concludes there is 'no approved formulation, no validated dosing regimen, and no completed Phase II clinical trial', and a 2025 systematic review of the orthopaedic literature (PMID 40756949) found 36 studies of which 35 were preclinical and one clinical.

Exactly three human reports exist (PMID 40789979), and none of them supports the subcutaneous regimen that is actually sold. (1) An open-label intravenous safety pilot in two adults, given 10 mg on day 1 and 20 mg on day 2 by one-hour infusion (PMID 40131143). (2) A single-arm study in 12 women with interstitial cystitis, each given one 10 mg injection into the bladder wall during cystoscopy (PMID 39325560). (3) A retrospective chart review of 17 patients who had intra-articular knee injections, which reports no dose at all (PMID 34324435). None was randomised, none had a control group, none used subcutaneous administration, and together they cover roughly 31 people.

The mg/kg figures that circulate are animal doses — typically 10 µg/kg or 10 ng/kg intraperitoneally or in drinking water in rats (e.g. PMID 22204800). Converting a rodent dose by body weight produces a number that looks rigorous and is not; it is not used anywhere in this entry. Reported clearance is fast (metabolised hepatically, half-life under 30 minutes, renally cleared, PMID 40756949), which is one reason a preclinical dose cannot be mapped onto a human schedule.

A Phase 2 trial of subcutaneous BPC 157 for acute hamstring strain (NCT07437547, once daily for 14 days) is recruiting; when it reports it will be the first human dosing evidence for this route. evidence_level is recorded as limited_human because human pilot data exists, not because any of it defines a dose.

04Facts

BPC-157 at a glance

Category
Healing peptide
Half-life
0.5 h
Routes
Subcutaneous, Oral, Other
Regulatory status
Research use only
Also sold as
BPC 157, Pentadecapeptide BPC 157, Body Protection Compound 157, PL 14736, Bepecin

Mechanism

A synthetic 15-amino-acid sequence (GEPPPGKPADDAGLV) derived from a fragment of a protein found in human gastric juice. In animal and cell models it promotes angiogenesis through VEGFR2 activation and nitric oxide synthesis via the Akt-eNOS axis, engages ERK1/2 signalling, increases fibroblast activity and growth hormone receptor expression, and reduces inflammatory cytokines; these effects are reported across tendon, muscle, gut, vascular and neural tissue. Every element of this mechanism comes from rat, mouse or in-vitro work — no mechanistic study in humans has been published, and the reviews note a pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic disconnect in the preclinical profile that has never been resolved.

Reconstitution

Must be reconstituted with bacteriostatic water before injection. No approved concentration or diluent exists, so the volume added is what sets the concentration — this is the single largest source of dosing error with this compound, since the same '250 mcg' instruction means different syringe markings depending on how the vial was mixed. Reviews of BPC-157 describe formulation and stability across routes as an unsolved development problem.

Storage

Supplied as a lyophilised powder in a sealed vial. Because there is no approved product there is no manufacturer stability data and no validated shelf life: vendor guidance (keep sealed vials refrigerated or frozen, protect from light, use reconstituted material within a few weeks) is convention rather than tested. Treat any storage claim on a research-peptide vial as unverified.

Frequency in practice

No established regimen exists. Clinics that sell it typically direct one or two subcutaneous injections a day in a 4-8 week cycle; the one recruiting trial uses a single daily subcutaneous dose for 14 days. Neither is a validated schedule.

Regulatory

Not approved by the FDA or any comparable regulator, for any indication. A 2026 biopharmaceutical review concludes there is no approved formulation, no validated dosing regimen and no completed Phase II clinical trial; a 2025 review notes it is not approved due to the absence of sufficient clinical studies in humans. Some clinic supply is made by 503A compounding pharmacies, which is a compounding arrangement and not an approval. One Phase 2 trial of subcutaneous BPC 157 for acute hamstring strain (NCT07437547) is recruiting and has not reported. Anti-doping status is described inconsistently in the literature — one 2025 review calls it banned in professional sport, another says the 2022 WADA ban was temporary and it is not currently listed — so competitors must check the current prohibited list themselves.

05Warnings

What to know before anything else

  • Not approved for human use anywhere. There is no approved BPC-157 product, no validated dosing regimen, and no completed Phase II trial.

  • The entire human safety record is three small uncontrolled pilot reports covering roughly 31 people in total, none of them subcutaneous and none following participants long-term. Nothing is known about safety beyond that — including at the doses and durations clinics actually sell.

  • The mechanism is strongly angiogenic (VEGFR2, nitric oxide). No study has examined what that does in a person with an existing or undiagnosed tumour. That risk is unquantified, not shown to be absent.

  • The dose figures circulating online are converted from rat experiments by body weight. Body-weight scaling from a rodent dose is not a human dose and has never been validated for this peptide.

  • Supply is unregulated. Material sold as BPC-157 is not manufactured to pharmaceutical standards and its identity, purity and sterility are not assured.

  • Prohibited or restricted in sport depending on the current WADA listing; detection assays for peptide doping agents exist.

06Questions

BPC-157 questions

Is there an established human dose for BPC-157?

No. A 2026 biopharmaceutical review (PMID 42198317) concludes there is no approved formulation, no validated dosing regimen and no completed Phase II clinical trial for BPC-157, and a 2025 systematic review of the orthopaedic literature (PMID 40756949) found 36 studies of which 35 were preclinical and one clinical. Exactly three human reports exist, covering roughly 31 people between them, and none of them used the subcutaneous route that is actually sold.

What are the three human studies of BPC-157?

According to the review at PMID 40789979, there are three: an open-label intravenous safety pilot in two adults given 10 mg on day one and 20 mg on day two by one-hour infusion (PMID 40131143); a single-arm study of 12 women with interstitial cystitis, each given one 10 mg injection into the bladder wall during cystoscopy (PMID 39325560); and a retrospective chart review of 17 patients who had intra-articular knee injections, which reports no dose at all (PMID 34324435). None was randomised and none had a control group.

Why do the mg/kg numbers circulating online not apply to people?

They are rodent doses. The figures that circulate are typically 10 µg/kg or 10 ng/kg given intraperitoneally or in drinking water to rats (for example PMID 22204800). Converting an animal dose by body weight produces a number that looks rigorous and is not, and it has never been validated for this peptide. Reported clearance is also fast — metabolised hepatically with a half-life under 30 minutes and renally cleared (PMID 40756949) — which is one reason a preclinical dose cannot be mapped onto a human injection schedule.

How does reconstitution volume change the numbers on a BPC-157 vial?

The vial holds a fixed mass of peptide; the water sets the concentration. A 5 mg vial mixed with 2 ml of bacteriostatic water gives 2.5 mg/ml, so 0.1 ml on the barrel is 250 mcg. The same 5 mg vial mixed with 5 ml gives 1 mg/ml, and that same 0.1 ml is now 100 mcg. This is the single largest source of error with BPC-157 specifically, because instructions circulate as a mass in micrograms while the syringe is marked in units of volume. Enter your own vial size and mixing volume above rather than copying someone else's unit count.

How is BPC-157 regulated?

It is not approved by the FDA or any comparable regulator, for any indication. Some clinic supply is made by 503A compounding pharmacies, which is a compounding arrangement and not an approval. One Phase 2 trial of subcutaneous BPC 157 for acute hamstring strain (NCT07437547) is recruiting and has not reported; when it does it will be the first human dosing evidence for that route. Anti-doping status is described inconsistently in the literature — one 2025 review calls it banned in professional sport, another says the 2022 WADA ban was temporary and it is not currently listed — so competitors have to check the current prohibited list themselves.

How should a BPC-157 vial be stored?

There is no manufacturer stability data, because there is no approved product, and so no validated shelf life. Vendor guidance — keep sealed vials refrigerated or frozen, protect from light, use reconstituted material within a few weeks — is convention rather than anything that has been tested for this peptide. Treat every storage claim printed on a research-peptide vial as unverified, including the expiry date.

What safety questions about BPC-157 are open?

The mechanism described in the animal literature is strongly angiogenic, acting through VEGFR2 activation and nitric oxide synthesis via the Akt-eNOS axis. No study has examined what that does in a person with an existing or undiagnosed tumour, so that risk is unquantified rather than shown to be absent. Beyond the roughly 31 people in the three pilot reports, nothing is known about safety — including at the doses and durations clinics actually sell — and none of those reports followed participants long-term. Supply is also unregulated: material sold as BPC-157 is not made to pharmaceutical standards and its identity, purity and sterility are not assured.

You worked out the draw. Now log this dose.

A calculator answers once and forgets. Dosavy keeps the concentration you mixed, the doses you actually took, and a reminder for the next one — with the same evidence labels you see on this page.